Solution if WebAssign Asks you to Log-In

If WebAssign asks you to log-in when accessing it through eLearning, please follow these instructions:

This problem occurs when the Web browser is not configured to accept third-party cookies.  To resolve the problem, configure the browser to accept third-party cookies and try again.

To configure your browser to accept third-party cookies, refer to the instructions for your browser.
 

  *   Firefox 12 or later: support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/enable-and-disable-cookies-website-preferences<http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/enable-and-disable-cookies-website-preferences>

  *   Internet Explorer 8 or later: windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/Block-enable-or-allow-cookies<http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-vista/Block-or-allow-cookies>

  *   Safari 5.1 or later: support.apple.com/kb/PH11913<http://support.apple.com/kb/PH11913>

  *   Chrome 19 or later: support.google.com/chrome/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=95647<http://support.google.com/chrome/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=95647>

If this still does not work, please uninstall and re-install Java.

FYI – eLearning Maintenance Outage – 2-5 am Sept.4 (Thu)

A three-hour maintenance outage has been scheduled for Thursday, September 4, from 2-5 am (early morning) to apply an update to eLearning to address the server issues users have experienced recently.  During this time, eLearning will not be available.  If you have any questions, please contact elearning@utdallas.edu.

eLearning Outage – Sept. 3

We are aware of today’s issues with eLearning.  We are again working closely with Blackboard to get it back up ASAP.  Please know that once this is cleared up, we will follow-up with conversations with Blackboard to determine what steps they need to take to dramatically improve services. 

Thank you for your patience.

UPDATE: eLearning Sluggishness

eLearning server performance has returned to normal.  We are continuing to monitor the situation and work both with Blackboard and our UTD IR Networking group to prevent the issue from happening again. 

If you have any questions or experience any issues, please contact elearning@utdallas.edu or 866-588-3192. 

Thank you

eLearning Sluggishness

We are receiving reports of extreme slowness when accessing eLearning. We are working with Blackboard to diagnose and fix the problem asap. Thank you for your patience as we work to resolve this.

Quick Tech Tip: Organizing your Course List in eLearning (hide courses from previous terms)

We have been receiving quite a few request on how to remove old courses/organize your Course List in our eLearning ticketing system.

Those who have been with the university for a while, may have noticed that a previous course appears in the Course List in eLearning – easily indicated by its dark, italicized font. This indication means the course is no longer available to access. Although the eLearning system is very good at hiding these old courses from your Course List, occasionally one of these old courses may appear.

cl-1

Here are a few steps to organize your Course List and hide those previous courses.

** Note: If you see a current term course that you have officially dropped and has been more than 24 hours since dropping it, please contact elearning@utdallas.edu and request to have the course removed from your Course List. Hiding the dropped course from your Course List will not remove you from the course. **

If you hover your mouse to the upper-right corner of the Course List module in eLearning, a ‘S’ icon will appear.

cl-2

 

Click on the S icon to go into the Course List Module Settings. The easiest way to organize your Course List is by selecting the Group by Term option in the Settings’ page.

cl-3

Selecting this option will display various types of terms you’re enrolled in your Course List. Simply uncheck any previous terms you wish not to appear in your Course List.

cl-4

In this section, you have the option to organize the order of course terms (if you are enrolled in shorter term session) to appear on the Course List. Simply click and hold the particular term within the cl-5column and drag it to its new location.

cl-6

** It is strongly discouraged to change any additional settings in the Course List Settings page. Any changes made below the Terms section may affect your ability to view and access your current courses. **

 

Once you are finish organizing your Course List, click Submit. This action will take you back to the eLearning homepage with the new changes made in the Course List.

cl-7

Quick Tech Tip – Organizing your Course List in eLearning

Pearson Issues

Pearson was experiencing issues from Monday 8/25/2014 to Thursday 8/28/2014. We are very sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you. The details of the outages are located below:

This is directly from Pearon’s help page: 
http://247pearsoned.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/9205

Recent Activity

  • MyLab & Mastering course creation was unavailable on Thursday, August 28 from 1:00 PM to 6:21 PM EDT / 17:00 to 22:21 GMT.
  • MyLab & Mastering registration and course creation were unavailable due to scheduled maintenance on Thursday, August 28 from noon to 1:00 PM EDT / 16:00 to 17:00 GMT.
  • On Thursday, August 28, 2014 from 2:04 AM to 2:49 AM EDT / 06:04 to 06:49 GMT, users may have experienced a delay or received an error message when trying to create a course or register for a course.
  • From Wednesday, August 27, 2014 at 9:37 AM EDT / 13:37 GMT to Thursday, August 28 at 12:34 AM EDT / 04:34 GMT users may have experienced a delay or received an error message when trying to create a course or register for a course.
  • On Wednesday, August 27, 2014 from 12:41 AM to 1:09 AM EDT / 04:41 to 05:09 GMT, users may have experienced a delay or received an error message when trying to create a course or register for a course.
  • On Tuesday, August 26, 2014 from 8:21 PM to 11:49 PM EDT / Wednesday, August 27 from 00:21 to 03:49 GMT, users may have experienced a delay or received an error message (such as “502 Bad Gateway”) when trying to create a course or when trying to register into a new design course.
  • On Monday, August 25, 2014 from 3:07 PM to 8:22 PM EDT / 19:07 to 00:22 GMT, users may have experienced a delay or received an error message when trying to create a course or register for a course.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 263 other followers